St. George’s Church of England Primary School Governing Body

Chair of Governors



Rev. Leighton Carr


C/O – St. George’s CE Primary School, Corunna Road, SW8 4JS

(020) 76221870




The Governing Body


We have three core duties as partners in education:

a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

b. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils

c. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent



We operate according to the following principles:
Selflessness: acting always in the interest of the school.

Integrity: not placing ourselves under any obligation to people or organisations that might try inappropriately to influence us in our work. We declare and resolve any interests and relationships.

Objectivity: we act and take decisions impartially and fairly using the best evidence.

Accountability: we are accountable for our decisions and actions and submit ourselves to the scrutiny necessary to ensure this.

Openness: we act and take decisions in a transparent manner.

Honesty: we are resolved always to be truthful.

Leadership: we actively promote and robustly support these principles and are willing to challenge poor behaviour wherever it occurs.

Meetings and Members


The Governing Body is made up of the following:

Name of Governor Type of Governor APPOINTED BY Term of office ENDs
1 Leighton Carr




Governing Board
2 Jennifer Wiles FOUNDATION Church Council
3 Patricia Trusty FOUNDATION Church Council
4 Roberta Cooke FOUNDATION Church Council
5 Jenny Bailey FOUNDATION Church Council
6 Vacancy FOUNDATION Church Council
7 Vacancy FOUNDATION Church Council
8 Vacancy FOUNDATION Diocese
9 Vacancy FOUNDATION Diocese
10 Sarah Collymore Head School Ex-Officio
11 Philip Boothroyd STAFF School
12 Vacancy PARENT Parents
13 Vacancy PARENT Parents
14 Janet Brooks LA LA
15 Amanda Hoffman CO-OPTED
16 David Bradley CO-OPTED


The Governing Body meets 3 times a year, once a term.




In addition to the statutory committees to determine Hearings, Appeals, Admissions and the Head’s Performance Review we also have three sub-committees.

Finance and Pay – Chair – Amanda Hoffman – meets x3 per year

Buildings and Premises – Chair – Leighton Carr – meets x2 per year

Curriculum and Standards – Chair – David Bradley- meets x2 per year


Governors Attendance Information




Register of Business Interests